Recipe! Anise Spiced Apple Sauce

There is nothing like fall in New England. The crisp air, the magical leaves and the NON STOP APPLE PICKING. I have gone twice this fall, plan on going again this weekend and I still don’t have my fix. There are so many wonderful things to make with apples- apple pie, apple crisp, baked apples, apple galettes but how doable is that with a baby? What can you do with all those apples?

 

Apple Sauce! Here is my very imprecise recipe. Mine has a little razzle dazzle since I probably can’t manage to make pie crust and that food making energy needs to go somewhere.

Image

1. Start with a large colander full of apples. Peel em. Core em.

2. Let your baby frolic in the apple peels. This was unavoidable for us. You probably shouldn’t do this if your baby isn’t used to consuming peels/ fruit skin. Also be prepared to wash the floor. Meanwhile cut the apples into 3/4 inch ish cubes. I sliced a couple of the apples as well so I could fish out some stewed apples for beanie halfway through.

Image

3. Put in a pot with about 1/3 of a cup of water. This is controversial. Put on low. Add desired spices. I used these bad boys

Image
(1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of powdered ginger and a couple of rasps of nutmeg, respectively)

Image

AND three teaspoons Sambuca (which we randomly had)  but you could use your favorite anisette (Ouzo or something else).

 

4. Let the apples cook until they are the right amount of chunkiness for you or your baby. And yes, the alcohol evaporates so your baby can eat it. I added another tsp of non alcoholic anise flavor at the end and mine is pretty strong. Cut it down to 1/2 tsp if you are a weenie.

 

Image

 

One for the fridge and one for the freezer. Yes you can freeze apple sauce, I googled it. Just make sure to leave an inch or so of space on the top. I told myself I would learn to can ONE THING this fall…its in a can and I won’t eat it until January.. half credit?

 

 

BONUS DESERT: Anice Spice Apple Sauce with Ricotta

Put hot apple sauce in a little dish. Plop on some ricotta cheese. Drizzle with maple syrup or honey. Die and go to heaven.

Image

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Recipe! Anise Spiced Apple Sauce

  1. Anna

    Those pictures SLAYED my heart. Jolene looks like she was having the best day ever. Coming to you in two weeks and one day! I need to sew Jolene something fall/winter appropriate once I return home… So much love.

  2. Anna (obv)

    NEW BABY POST!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

