my stomach

i haven’t thought about my stomach for a couple of days now. for a while there, including during pregnancy, it was constantly on my mind, so this little break is a bit of  a feat. i was going to be all radical and post a picture of it, in all its mushy, stretch marked glory, to show the world what having a baby really does to your body, but i then i realized a have absolutely no desire to share my stomach with the internet. so you will have to wait and see.

i went back to afterschool part-time last week and was greeted with lots of screams and hugs by my Kindergarden girl posse. one of them asked me if there was still a baby in my belly and i smiled and said “does it look like there’s still a baby in my belly?” (stupid stupid stupid) and she said “umm…yes.” whoops.

one of these days i will go for another run (i was chased down the street by a pitbull the last time i tried…). one of these days i will attempt a situp. yes yes i know i am 22 and “my body will bounce back” (yes it will be it is so squishy and bouncy and rubbery) but i nearly pulled a duce . there is some serious work to be done. for now, i think i’ll screw bikini season and enjoy my bowl of jelly, and the copious metaphors that can be made.

Anne Lamott, the fabulous awesome author of one of my new favorite books Operating Instructions: A Journal of My Son’s First Year, puts it best:

People kept trying to prepare me for how soft and mushy my stomach would be after I gave birth, but I secretly thought, Not this old buckerina…Oh, but my stomach, she is like a waterbed covered with flannel now. When I lie on my side, my stomach lies politely beside me, like a puppy.

yahoo!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

