this is not a food blog

… but i wish it was. i have such  big fat bloggy crushes on smitten kitchen and The Pioneer Woman.  I can’t even read them because i get such a  terrible heart ache for marble counters and a turquoise mixer (omg that actually exists) and beautiful dishes and gorgeous light streaming into the kitchen and a badass digital SLR. food blogs that photograph every little step usually just leave me crazy jealous and depressed. i have tried to take pictures of the food that i make. it does not turn out well.

Exhibit A: one of the best pasta dishes I have made in my entire life…Image

… and it looks like someone sneezed on a plate (Its loosely based on this if you’re somehow interested).

anyway, as i am now resident housewife to my parents and younger brother, i am trying to be useful to them (in addition to filling their lives with joy via grandaughter/niece and filling their livingroom with jolene’s boppy, swing, drying diapers, playmat, teddybear…) by attempting to cook dinner or at least make it really easy to make dinner. what is the first step in this? menu planning!

i love menu planning. it makes shopping easier. it makes cooking easier. and it helps me use the mountains of recipes i bookmark and forget about (probably also because they are in a folder labeled “farming” in my highly organized bookmarks…dont ask why). i am now officially a person who plans meals for the week so WATCH OUT. i am going to post them here when i remember.

Sunday: Chicken Curry with Sweet Potatoes and rice

Monday: Vietnamese chicken salad (from Food&Wine’s amaaazing Quick from Scratch Chicken) and Roasted Sweet Potato Ginger Soup 

Tuesday: Turkey Burgers (for everyone else, some delicious mystery because jolene and i are going over to my sisters for dinner!)

Wednesday: Jamaican Jerk Eggplant from Passionate Vegetarian 

I need to pause here because I just got really excited about Passionate Vegetarian. Click on that link and take a look at the author whose name is (I kid you not) Crescent Dragonwagon. This lady is completely ridiculous. She neurotically justifies her use of cheese and all of her recipes are named after her friends, but I’ve made a lot of great stuff out of her book, both as a vegetarian and a rabid meat eater. Did I mention that her name is Crescent Dragon Wagon?!

Thursday:

Friday:

…okay so I got as far as Wednesday. But this is not a food blog. So I am going to call it a night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

